The latest business continuity news from around the world

UK government publishes a set of twelve National Resilience Standards

On Tuesday 31st July the UK Cabinet Office’s Civil Contingencies Secretariat published a set of twelve National Resilience Standards, including two business continuity standards.

The standards have been developed in collaboration with the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government, a range of other government departments and agencies, the Devolved Administrations, the Emergency Planning College and professional institutions. They have been drafted and developed with local emergency responders, and as a result they reflect a broadly-based and consensus view of ‘what good looks like’, and what Local Resilience Forums should be looking to implement, achieve and be able to demonstrate.

The National Resilience Standards include two related to business continuity:

  • National Resilience Standard #8: Business Continuity Management
  • National Resilience Standard #9: Business Continuity Promotion.

The standards are available to download as a PDF from Resilience Direct. (Registered users only).

Want news and features emailed to you?

Signup to our free newsletters and never miss a story.

A website you can trust

The entire Continuity Central website is scanned daily by Sucuri to ensure that no malware exists within the site. This means that you can browse with complete confidence.

Business continuity?

Business continuity can be defined as 'the processes, procedures, decisions and activities to ensure that an organization can continue to function through an operational interruption'. Read more about the basics of business continuity here.

Get the latest news and information sent to you by email

Continuity Central provides a number of free newsletters which are distributed by email. To subscribe click here.